Posts by admin

Roanoke, Virginia – Ad agencies stay up late to help out nonprofits

Roanoke, Virginia – Ad agencies stay up late to help out nonprofits

AAF Roanoke held its second annual CreateAthon on September 26-27 to help 19 organizations.

Click here to read the full article. (The Roanoke Times)

The 2010 District 3 NSAC

2010 NSAC

April 23-24, 2010 at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Charlotte, NC

The AAF District 3 National Student Advertising Competition (NSAC) will be held on Friday, April 23, 2010. The national client this year will be State Farm Insurance.

Please check back soon for more information.

2010 District ADDY Winners

Congratulations to all winners of the district awards. Download the complete list here.

Best of Show
Neathawk Dubuque & Packett
Roanoke, VA
The Perfect Fix Poster Campaign for The Perfect Fix

Special Judges Choice Award
Little Red Bird
Charlotte, NC
Dry Fly Distilling

Special Judges Choice Award
the Brandon Agency
Myrtle Beach, SC
“Beach” for Coastal Uncorked

Special Judges Choice Award
Ferebee Lane
Greenville, SC
Le Creuset Truckette for Le Creuset of America

Student Best of Show
Christian Anzola
UNC Charlotte
Malaria Poster

Diversity Scholarship Winners for 2008-2009

2009 AAF Greenville Scholarship Winners
Raymond Christopher Jones
London Wilson

The 2009 District 3 NSAC Results

The AAF Third District National Student Advertising Competition (NSAC) was held on Friday, April 24, 2009 at The Crowne Plaza Hotel in Charlotte, NC. The national client this year was THE CENTURY COUNCIL, which is a non-profit organization funded by distillers and beer manufacturers. The case study challenged the students to create an ad campaign which targets binge drinking among young people, both on and off college campuses in an effort to raise awareness of the dangers of heavy alcohol use. This is the first year the AAF has utilized a cause-marketing challenge, and the results proved to be very interesting!

First Place – University of Virginia
Second Place Tie – University of NC and Washington & Lee
Fourth Place – University of South Carolina

UVA will continue on to the National Competition on June 4-6 in Arlington, VA. There, they will compete against 16 other district winners for the grand prize. Jack Lindgren is the advisor for The University of Virginia, which has placed first many times at the district level and has also won first, second and third place at National on several occasions. Third District AAF is very proud of all of its competing schools, and would love to see more colleges become competitors. For more information on starting a college chapter, please contact the Third District NSAC Coordinator, Gail Williams at or visit the AAF website and click on “Education”. A free booklet titled “Starting a College Chapter” is available from the AAF.

Participating Schools for 2009
Appalachian State University
Liberty University
Radford University
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
University of South Carolina
University of Virginia
Wake Forest University
Washington and Lee University

2009 District 3 ADDY Winners

Congratulations to all winners of the district awards. Download the winner’s book here.

Best of Show:
Charlotte, NC
Ruby Tuesday Blow Up done for Ruby Tuesday

Best of Show – Out of Home:
the bounce agency
Greenville, SC for
“Time to Thaw” done for South Carolina Dept. of Parks, Recreation & Tourism

Best of Show – Interactive:
Blue Ion
Charelston, SC
“Hook” done for Hook LLC

Best of Show – Print:
Little Red Bird,
Charlotte, NC
“The Power of a Goat” done for Boats for Goats

Special Judges Award:
Charlotte, NC
“Never Wait” done for Batter Blaster

Student Best of Show:
Savannah Jane Springer
Anderson University – Anderson, SC
“lil’ monsters Baby Food”

Student Judges Choice:
Jessica Harllee
Virginia Tech – Blacksburg, VA
“Rumedge Annual Report”

Jenna Weidner/Karen Khouth
VCU School of Mass Communications – Richmond, VA
“Itty Bitty Booklight”

Andrew Adams
Anderson University – Anderson, SC
Penguin Signet Classics Redesign

Diversity Scholarship Winners for 2007-2008

District Scholarship Winner – Sigourney Woodfork – Greenville, SC

Local Club Winners:
AAF Coastal Carolinas – South Carolina
Symone Lakiesh Flagler

AAF Greenville – South Carolina
John Odumakinde
Sigourney Woodfork

AAF Midlands – South Carolina
Kain Robinson

The 2008 District 3 NSAC Results

April 24-26, 2008 at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Charlotte, NC


AOL, a global leader in Web-based businesses, was the 2008 NSAC sponsor. The case study was distributed to AAF college chapters in September.

The University of Virginia placed THIRD in the nation at the June AAF National NSAC competition in Atlanta, Ga. They also won the very first Getty Images Award for best use of Getty images in their plans book.

The 2008 District 3 winners were:
First Place: University of Virginia
Second Place: University of South Carolina
Third Place: Washington & Lee University
Fourth Place: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill


The UVA Team: Left to right Kevin Knickerbocker, Carrie Petersik, Kristine Salm, Angela Johnson, and Katie Chapin.

Diversity Scholarship Winners for 2006-2007

District Scholarship Winner – Nancy Lim – Charlotte, NC

Local Club Winners:
Roanoke Advertising Federation – Virginia
Ann Nyugen

AAF Charlotte – North Carolina
Nancy Lim

© AAF District 3